CORROSION Best Paper Award

CORROSION Best Paper Award

This award is given for the most outstanding manuscript published in CORROSION in the calendar year preceding the award nomination deadline. CORROSION Editorial Board members will be requested to provide nominations based on their knowledge of the manuscripts published during the eligible calendar year for which they were the lead editors.

Nominee Eligibility

  • Authors of nominated papers do not have to be members of NACE.
  • Only papers published in issues of CORROSION in the calendar year preceding the award nomination deadline are eligible.
  • Papers published in CORROSION that are eligible for the A.B. Campbell Award are also eligible for this award in the same year, but the same paper cannot receive both awards.
  • Past recipients of this award are not eligible to receive this award again.
  • Research Topical Symposium (RTS) papers may be considered.
  • Willis Rodney Whitney and Frank Newman Speller papers may not be considered.

How to Nominate

Download and fill out nomination form

Review criteria for nominator eligibility

Return on or before June 30 to NACE Headquarters

For more information please email

Richard P. Gangloff
Richard P. Gangloff
Greger L. Pioszak
Greger L. Pioszak

2019 Recipient(s): Greger L. Pioszak and Richard P. Gangloff

The 2019 CORROSION Best Paper recipients are Greger L. Pioszak and Richard P. Gangloff, for "Hydrogen Environment Assisted Cracking of a Modern Ultra-High Strength Martensitic Stainless Steel," CORROSION journal, 73, 9 (2017): pp. 1,132-1,156.

Past Recipients

  • 2018
    Dr. Michael Henthorne
  • 2017
    Professor Oladis Troconis de Rincon
    Professor Andres Antonio Torres-Acosta
    Professor Pedro CastroBorges
  • 2016
    Yao Xiong; Bruce Brown
    Brian Kinsella
    Srdjan Nešić, FNACE
    Alain Pailleret.
  • 2015
    Dr. Liang-Liang Li
    Dr. Greg Swain
  • 2014
    Sebastian Thomas
    Nick Birbilis
    Murali S. Venkatraman
    Ivan S. Cole
  • 2013
    Koji Arioka
  • 2012
    Dr. Jeremy Moloney
    Wai Mok
    Carlos Menendez
  • 2011
    Wei Sun
    Srdjan Nesic
  • 2010
    J.R. Scully
    F. Preseul-Moreno
    M. Goldman
    R.G. Kelly
    N. Tailleart