Technical Achievement Award

Technical Achievement Award

The Technical Achievement Award is given in recognition for technical achievement in corrosion engineering having significant impact on the practice of corrosion control, or on the enhancement of the profession of corrosion engineering. Recognized achievements can be in the areas of research, engineering, or education.

A maximum of five awards may be given in any year. Each recipient will receive an inscribed award.

Nominee Eligibility

  • The nominee must be a current member of NACE in good standing.
  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • Past presidents are eligible for this award only for accomplishments following their presidency and only after five years time has lapsed since their presidency.
  • Past recipients of the Frank Newman Speller Award and the Willis Rodney Whitney Award are not eligible for this award.
  • Past recipients of this award are not eligible to receive this award again.

How to Nominate

Download and fill out nomination form

Review criteria for nominator eligibility

Return on or before June 30 to NACE Headquarters

For more information please email

2019 Recipient(s)

Alyn Jenkins

Schlumberger, UK

"Recognized for his global expertise on the implementation of corrosion mitigation strategies in oil and gas fields and chemistry formulations of production chemicals."

Baorong Hou

National Marine Corrosion Protection Engineering Research Center, Qingdao, China

"Outstanding contributions to development of corrosion research and education program, and technology innovation for corrosion control for engineering structure in marine environments."

Hejian Sun

Solvay/Novecare, The Woodlands, Texas

"Recognized for his 33-year contributions to the state of art in sour corrosion mitigation, corrosion inhibition, evaluation and monitoring in oil and gas industry worldwide."

Hira Ahluwalia

Material Selection Resources Inc., Pennington, NJ

"Recognized for his many contributions to corrosion engineering including application of high-performance materials in very corrosive environments in the Chemical Process Industries (CPI)."

Lee Smith

BP Exploration Ltd., UK

"Recognized for his significant role in developing ground breaking solutions for corrosion control of metallic materials for oil and gas applications. In addition, for his leadership role in continuous commitment to NACE International."

Past Recipients

  • 2018
    Thierry Cassagne, FNACE
    Sylvia Hall
    Perry Nice
    Paul Puckorius
    VS Raja, FNACE
  • 2017
     Andy Gysbers
    Sandra Hernandez
    Xiaogang Li
    Bruce Pint, FNACE
    Patrick Teevens
  • 2016
    Sankara Papavinasam, FNACE
    Minxu Lu
    Zahid Amjad
    Raymundo Case
    Daniel Powell
  • 2015
    Dr. Anthony Gerbino
    Jan Larsen
    Mohsen Achour
    Vilupanur Ravi
  • 2014
    Dr. Dharma Abayarathna
    Dr. Ali N. Moosavi
    Prof. Noam Eliaz
    Dr. Jorge J. Perdomo
    Dr. Gary E. Jenneman
  • 2013
    Dr. Thomas R. Jack
    Richard J. Kessler
    Teresa Perez
    Siamack A. Shirazi
    Dr. Malgorzata Ziomek-Moroz
  • 2012
    Professor Behzad Bavarian
    Dr. Dale R. McIntyre
  • 2011
    John Dabkowski
    Vince Hock
    Peter Mayer
    Ed Rybicki
  • 2010
    Avtandil Bairamov
    Alberto Sagüés
    Michel Bonis
    Sergei Shipilov
    John Martin
  • 2009
    Marc Edwards
    Michael W. Joosten
    Gabriel Ogundele
    Brian J. Saldanha
    Karol E. Szklarz
  • 2008
    J. Dimond
    M. Mitchell
  • 2007
    J. Broomfield
    B. Kermani
    L. Terrase
  • 2006
    B. Chang
    T. DeBold
    A. Naraghi
    C. Shargay
  • 2005
    S. Borenstein
    J. Crum
    W. Hartt
  • 2004
    M. Akashi
    G.R. Holcomb
    S.D. Kapusta
    R.W. Revie
  • 2003
    D.G. Hill
    S.N. Smith
    N. Sridhar
  • 2002
    J.E. Bennett
    R.J. Horvath
    R.M. Kain
    R.W. Ross
    K.L. Vasanth
  • 2001
    A. Goolsby
    C.C. Nathan
    A. Turnbull
    T.L. Yau
  • 2000
    J.P. Audouard
    W.W. Frenier
    B. Hopkinson
    S.A. Kennedy
    G.D. Smith