Fellow Honor

Fellow Honor

The honor of NACE Fellow is given in recognition of distinguished contributions in the field of corrosion and its prevention; and to develop a broadly based forum for technical and professional leaders to serve as advisers to the Association.

Nominee Eligibility

  • The nominee must have completed five years of current, continuous membership in the Association at the time of nomination.
  • No posthumous nominations will be accepted.
  • Voting members of the NACE Board may not be selected to receive this honor during their term on the Board.
  • Past recipients of this award are not eligible to receive this award again.

How to Nominate

Review the nominator eligibility requirements

Download and fill out nomination form

Review criteria for nominator eligibility

Return on or before June 30 to NACE Headquarters

For more information please email awards@nace.org.

2020 Recipient(s)

Abdelmounam Sherik

Saudi Aramco, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

For his contribution in understanding the origin of black powder, in developing science of its formation, and in implementing strategies in controlling black powder in gas pipelines.

Behzad Bavarian

California State University, Northridge, California, USA

For outstanding contributions to the understanding of corrosion and material performance in infrastructure, power plants, and oil and Gas, his significant role in mentoring people and his superlative professionalism to developing innovative solutions and standards to mitigating corrosion backed by continued influential role at NACE International and aiding corrosion education.

John Peter Nicholson

Cathodic Technology Limited, Ontario, Canada

For outstanding innovative instrumentation for field corrosion assessment of pipelines and concrete structures, and pioneering contributions to advancement of cathodic protection for reinforced concrete.

Michael P. Brady

UT-Battelle/Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

For leading the development of the alumina-forming austenitic family of heat-resistant stainless steels.

Moavin Islam

Corrosion Forensics LLC, Ashburn, Virginia, USA

In recognition of a lifetime of accomplishments in developing corrosion control technology, leadership of numerous symposia, and initiatives to train the next generation.

Paul Su

FM Global, Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

Recognized for significant contributions in the development of novel techniques, testing standards, and products mitigating corrosion of fire sprinkler systems, and in corrosion control for equipment loss prevention.

Dr. Pedro Castro Borges

Cinvestav del IPN, Unidad Mérida, Mérida, México

Recognized for outstanding contributions to advanced understanding of corrosion in concrete in tropical environments, conceptual service life models, prevention of corrosion in concrete and development of durable infrastructure.

Sandra E. Hernandez

Chevron, Houston, Texas, USA

In honor of her 25+ years of work to define, predict, and prevent corrosion in oil and gas production environments which has helped protect the environment by preventing corrosion incident on several continents.

Sannakaisa Virtanen

University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Erlangen, Germany

For sustained excellence in the study of corrosion fundamentals, in particular passivity and biocompatibility, and for leadership in the field.

Steven C. Kung, Ph.D.

Electric Power Research Institute, Charlotte, North Carolina, USA

Recognized for seminal contributions to addressing corrosion issues in the power generation industry, particularly by understanding and modeling fireside corrosion in coal-fired boilers.

Thodla Ramgopal

DNV GL, Dublin, Ohio, USA

Recognized for development of advanced test techniques for the selection, and qualification of corrosion resistant alloys and steels in high pressure, high temperature oil and gas systems.

Thomas L. Ladwein

Steinbeis Transferzentrum Korrosion und Werkstoff, Augsburg, Germany

Recognized for his outstanding and sustained research of microstructure and surface effects on stainless steels, which has facilitated significant extension of safe materials use in the oil and gas and chemical industries, and for his innovative, holistic approach to education.

Venkatesan Ramasamy

National Institute of Ocean Technology, Chennai, India

Recognized for significant and sustained contributions to marine corrosion engineering and biocorrosion mitigation on marine structures for the coastal, deep ocean and polar waters.

Prof. Dr. ir. Walter F. Bogaerts

KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium

Recognized for his outstanding academic work on corrosion engineering, his pioneering role in developing computerized corrosion information systems and his contributions to NACE in Europe.

Xiaogang Li

University of Science and Technology Beijing, Beijing, China

Recognized for his significant contribution to the fundamental understanding of corrosion of steels, the design of corrosion resistant steels and the development of corrosion big-data approaches.

Past Recipients

  • 2019
    Benjamin Chang
    Carlos A. Palacios
    David Kolman
    Douglas Hansen
    Hira Ahluwalia
    Homero Castaneda Lopez
    Nallaiyan Rajendran
    Patrick Teevens
    Richard J. Kessler
    Robert Peter Badrak
  • 2018
    Mohsen Achour
    Sean Brossia
    Jim Chmilar
    David Enos
    Rani George
    Sytze Huizinga
    Michelle Koul
    Mike Tran
    Ockert Van Der Schijff
    Brian Wyatt
  • 2017
    Jenny Been
    Gareth Hinds
    Brian KinsellaVivekanand Kain
    Minxu Lu
    Daniel Powell
    Kenneth Tator
    Pierre Roberge
    Lietai Yang
  • 2016
    Oliver Moghissi
    Andre Anderko
    Frank Cheng
    Gabriel Ogundele
    Robert Gummow
    Zahid Amjad
    Vilupanur Ravi
  • 2015
    Dr. Graham Bell
    Wayne Frenier
    Kevin Garrity
    Dr. John Martin
    Teresa Perez
    Siamack Shirazi
    Stephen Smith
  • 2014
    Thierry Cassagne
    Dr. Nick Birbilis
    Raul B. Rebak
    Vedula Sankar Sastri
    Stein Olsen
    Dr. Bruce A. Pint
  • 2013
    Akram Alfantazi
    Dr. Neal Berke
    Dr. Luz Marina Calle
    Dr. William M. Cox
    Christopher M. Fowler
    Dr. James D. Garber
    Barry Gordon
    Dr. U. Kamachi Mudali
    Neil Thompson
    Dr. Masakatsu Ueda
  • 2012
    Dr. Stephen C. Dexter
    Dr. Gerhardus Koch
    Sergio Kapusta
    Dr. Brian Saldanha
    Professor Noam Eliaz
  • 2011
    Mike Joosten
    V.S. Raja
    Frank Walsh
    Guy Davis
    Alberto Sagüés
    Sergei Shipilov
  • 2010
    John Broomfield
    Yves Gunaltun
    Bijan Kermani
    Ashok Kumar
    Scott Lillard
  • 2009
    Jose R. Vera
    Liane Smith
    Douglas L. Singbeil
    Barbara A. Shaw
    Martin W. Kendig
    Vincent F. Hock
    Bill Hedges
    Andrew Garner
    Damien Feron
    Thomas M. Devine
    Robert A. Cottis
  • 2008
    Srdjan Nesic
    Sankara Papavinasam
    Robert Mack
    Preet Mohinder Singh
    Prabhakar Singh
    Mehrooz Zamanzadeh
    Louis G. MacDowell
    En‐Hou Han
    Alan Turnbull
  • 2007
    Fraser King
    Edmund Rybicki
    Robert Kelly
    Gerald Gordon
  • 2006
    Mirna Urquidi– Macdonald
    Gaylord Smith
    Lillian Skogsberg
    James Keiser
    Robert Kain
    James Divine
    Rudolph Buchheit
    Stephen Bruemmer
  • 2005
    William Thomason
    Narasi Sridhar
    Gunter Schmitt
    William Hartt
    Roger Francis
    Bernard Covino
  • 2004
    Leonardo Uller
    Herbert Townsend
    Michael Renner
    Derek Milliams
    Peter Mayer
    Russell Jones
    Robert Heidersbach
    Gerald Frankel
    John Beavers
  • 2003
    G.J. Theus
    G. Sorell
    D.A. Shifler
    W.B.A. Sharp
    D.L. Piron
    W.J. Neill
    A. S. Khanna
    R.H. Hausler
    S.D. Cramer
  • 2002
    W.H. Seager
    J.R. Scully
    J.N. Murray
    E.L. Hibner
    A. Dugstad
  • 2001
    H.A. Videla
    J.F. Jenkins
    A.L. Hendricks
    J.H. Fitzgerald III
    O.H. Fenner
    H.L. Craig
    G.A. Cragnolino